#TastyTuesday: The Taste of Fall

You know that feeling that you get after you’ve been on the road for awhile and you just can’t wait to be home? That feeling of unrest and almost uneasiness – the inability to fully relax because you’re not in your element. I didn’t realize it until the last few days, but that’s how I’ve been feeling. Don’t get me wrong – I loved where I was staying and the company was spectacular, but nothing is quite the same as “home”.

After what seems like forever (really only 2 months), I have made it to my next destination: home. I moved out of my home about a month ago and have been staying with one a my best friends. While I was still able to cook and do pretty much anything I wanted, I just never felt 100% at ease. I was still living out of boxes – spices and baking supplies in one box; extra Tupperware and mason jars for meal-prep in another; winter clothes stored in a suitcase. And although everything was calm at the house, I felt like I was riding a roller coaster on the inside due to the myriad of emotions that I was expereincing.  No wonder I felt unstable!

But the living out of boxes will soon be coming to an end, for over the weekend, I made the trek north to my hometown. Finally – home with most of my belongings, my sweet puppy, and my parents. I was so overcome with exhaustion and emotion that one of the first things I did was burst into tears. I couldn’t tell you what emotion that emitted this, but just to have that release made me feel a bit better. And oh, the home-cooked meals! Now, I may know how to cook, but my mom’s cooking blows mine out of the water any day. After eating out for a better part of a week, I was dying for something Southern and homey. And boy did my mom nail it – roasted chicken with “fried” cabbage and broccoli.

Today was the first full day at home and I’ll admit, it was quite the adjustment. I didn’t have to wake up early because I didn’t have an hour commute to work. I was actually able to read and meditate this morning, then cook breakfast as I set up to work for the day. I ate my hot breakfast (hash with eggs) while reading emails and sipping on coffee from a dancing Snoopy mug. It was delightful! Because it’s absolutely frigid in the mornings, I opted to run during my lunch break. Another perk of being home is I could eat my lunch at my desk, not skipping a beat.

All this cold weather got me in the mood for fall even more so than I already was. I had thawed pork loin on my drive home yesterday, but realized around lunch time that I had completely forgotten to start it in the crockpot! I panicked at first and then saw it for the opportunity it really was. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked pork loin just in the oven except maybe one in my life, so this was a chance to try out something new! I perused Pinterest and settled on a very fall-themed dish that was cooked all in one pan. A neighbor gave us sweet potatoes, so I decided they would make a great side to the pork. I already knew I wanted broccoli for dinner (I can never get enough) and was eager to try this new recipe!

Dinner was a success. Not only did my mom not have to cook, but everything new we tried (which was the entire meal) received the seal of a approval from my dad! If you’re a wife, mother, or daughter – you know how important that approval is! I hope you enjoy these two dishes as much as we did! ❤️


Roasted Pork Loin with Apples & Sweet Potatoes

img_1403

2 pounds pork tenderloin
Salt and ground pepper, to taste
1 onion, cut into wedges
2 apples, sliced
1/2 cup apple juice
2 T organic apple cider vinegar
1 T Dijon mustard
1 T fresh chopped sage or 1 tsp dried sage
2 large sweet potatoes, skinned and cubed

img_1404

  1. Preheat oven at 350F. Lightly grease a roasting pan with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Season the pork tenderloin with salt and ground pepper; transfer to roasting pan.
  3. Arrange onion wedges, apple slices, and cubed sweet potato around the meat and set aside.
  4. In a small bowl, whisk together apple juice, apple cider vinegar, and mustard until thoroughly combined. Stir in sage.
  5. Pour the apple-dijon mixture over the tenderloin and potatoes.
  6. Cover with foil and roast for 1.5 hours.
  7. After 90 minutes, remove foil and place the pan back in oven. Continue to cook for 20 minutes, until pork is cooked through and potatoes are fork tender.
  8. Remove from oven and slice before serving with vegetables.

 

Roasted Broccoli with Panko Breadcrumbs

img_1406-jpg

1.5 lbs broccoli
2 T olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
2 T coconut spread

  1. Preheat the oven to 450F. Lightly coated a baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Meanwhile, chop up broccoli into florets and place into baking dish.
  3. Toss broccoli with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.
  4. Melt coconut spread and pour over the broccoli. Sprinkle with breadcrumbs and mix to coat evenly.
  5. Cook in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until the breadcrumbs are slightly toasted.
  6. Serve immediately with your favorite fall entree!

img_1408

 

 

Leave a Reply

