Pumpkin Lasagna

So, yes, I’m a total white girl who’s obsessed with pumpkin. I’ve made it my personal mission these past few months to find as many different ways to include pumpkin into as many dishes as possible. For a pumpkin-obsessed white girl, I really wasn’t educated in the many different ways pumpkin could be used! Before this experiment, I think the only time I had pumpkin was in my beloved PSL’s from Starbucks, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin pie, or pumpkin cheesecake. So let’s state the obvious – I only enjoyed pumpkin if it was sweet and coated in sugar.

 

37fd1268a3d2fab95e4bf5dc232bd75f

Well, that just wasn’t acceptable in my book. I knew if I could find some savory recipes, I would find how much I love pumpkin outside of the sweet stuff. So, of course, I went straight to Pinterest for ideas. I actually have a “Pumpkin Galore” board, so I perused that quickly to see if I had pinned some recipes. Alas, amongst the pumpkin pie snickerdoodles and the pumpkin banana bread pins, nothing savory was to be found. Oh, the tragedy! Thank goodness others on Pinterest didn’t have such a narow-minded approach to pumpkin. If you search “pumpkin entree”, your results almost appear with a heavenly white light illuminating from behind them! Everything from pumpkin pizza, to pumpkin stuffed shells, and even (brace yourselves) pumpkin beer chicken tacos.

I know – pure heaven.

provo-canyon-sunrise-769660-gallery

Below is the recipe for an amazing variation of a classic Italian dish – lasagna. It seems that pumpkin is a popular choice for dishes from this country. I saw everything from ziti, penne, spaghetti, and even ravioli. I personally am rather fond of lasagna, so I opted to try this recipe. I hope you enjoy!

img_1575

 

Pumpkin Lasagna

Lasagna

🔸12 lasagna noodles
🔸1 cup 21 Day Fix Alfredo sauce
🔸1, 15 oz. can pumpkin
🔸1 T brown sugar
🔸1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
🔸16 oz. fat free cottage cheese
🔸1/2 tsp garlic powder
🔸1/2 tsp Italian seasoning
🔸16 oz. mild Italian sausage
🔸1, 10 oz. frozen spinach, thawed and drained
🔸1/3 cup shredded mozzarella

Alfredo Sauce

🔸1 T olive oil
🔸1 T minced garlic or 1/2 tsp garlic powder
🔸3/4 cup Greek yogurt
🔸1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
🔸1 T parsley
🔸1/4 tsp salt
🔸1/4 tsp pepper
🔸1/8 tsp nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375.

In a saucepan over low heat, mix together Alfredo sauce ingredients. Add in a splash of milk if too thick. Mix in pumpkin, brown sugar, and pumpkin pie spice until thoroughly combined. Set aside.

In a skillet, heat oil and cook Italian sausage.

img_1566
In a bowl, mix the cottage cheese with garlic salt and Italian seasoning.

In a greased square casserole dish (I use 8×8″), spread about 1 cup of pumpkin mixture. Arrange three lasagna noodles across the pan.

img_1567

Proceed with the following layers: noodles, cottage cheese, pumpkin Alfredo, spinach, sausage. Repeat for two layers.

🔶Top with remaining 3 lasagna noodles and pumpkin Alfredo. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese on top.

img_1571

Bake for 40 minutes, uncovered. Be sure to let it cool before slicing. Serve with a side salad or your favorite veggies!

img_1574

 

 

Leave a Reply

